Free shipping from 29 € (GER)
30 days right of withdrawal
Secure shopping
Collect PAYBACK points

Earl Grey - tea tradition from England 

What is Earl Grey tea? 

Earl Grey is the name of a tea blend that originally consisted of Chinese black tea and was flavoured with the fine, fragrant, bitter oil of the bergamot fruit. Today there are numerous blends, some with green tea or rooitea. The tea owes its name to Charles Grey, the 2nd Earl of Fallodon. As British Prime Minister, he abolished the East India Company's price monopoly in the tea trade with China in 1833. The title "Earl Grey" is a hereditary title of the Grey family, Earls of Fallodon. Several myths are known about the origin of this classic. 

 Best Earl Grey tea from TeeGschwendner 

The Earl Grey black tea blend with a tangy bergamot flavour has a long tradition at TeeGschwendner. The English tea classic was already on sale on the first tea list 40 years ago as "Earl Grey No. 69". This Earl Grey tea is still one of the most popular teas in our range and has even been voted the world's best Earl Grey in the USA!

Tea Gifts for Earl Grey Fans

No. 21033
Earl Grey Lovers
(1)
from €13.30*
€13.30*

No. 21005
Lucky Charm
(1)
from €10.90*
€10.90*

No. 21011
Black Treasures
(1)
from €21.40*
€21.40*

Our 3 best Earl Greys

No. 922
Earl Grey no. 69
(1)
from €6.20*
€6.20*

(€62.00* / Kilogram)

No. 938
Earl Grey organic
(1)
from €7.30*
€7.30*

(€73.00* / Kilogram)

Bio-Anbau DE-ÖKO-013
No. 935
Earl Grey's Lady Violet
(1)
from €6.90*
€6.90*

(€69.00* / Kilogram)

TeaGschwendner Earl Grey teas in comparison

The Earl Grey black tea blend with a tangy bergamot flavour has a long tradition at TeeGschwendner. The English tea classic was already on sale on the first tea list 40 years ago as "Earl Grey No. 69". This Earl Grey tea is still one of the most popular teas in our range and has even been voted the world's best Earl Grey in the USA! 

 Our Earl Grey teas are truly royal delights: in addition to the classic version made from strong black tea with bergamot oil or bergamot flavouring, there are also milder Earl Grey teas on a first flush basis, green tea with bergamot or Earl Grey tea with a refinement of orange and lavender notes.

Myths and history of Earl Grey

According to legend, the origin of this well-known blend of black tea and bergamot goes back to the Englishman Lord Grey. How exactly he came up with the idea of adding bergamot oil to Chinese black tea is, however, disputed. We present the three most common Earl Grey origin myths: 

 1. the recipe 

On one of his travels, Charles Grey discovered an ancient Chinese tea recipe. The oil from the bergamot fruit was used to flavour the tea. Back in England, the Earl gave the recipe to the tea company Jackson of Picadilly, and in gratitude for this outstanding recipe, the company thanked him by giving the tea the name Earl Grey. 

 2. The gift 

The recipe for this tea was a gift from a grateful Mandarin to Charles Grey, who saved his life in a medical emergency. 

 3. The shipwreck 

On the long voyage from China to Europe, the tea was stored next to barrels of bergamot oil. Due to heavy seas, some of the oil got into the tea and mixed. When he arrived home, the Earl of Fallodon immediately noticed the "contamination". However, he did not want to throw the expensive tea away immediately, so he had it distributed among the poor. They gratefully accepted the new mixture and there was a great demand for the new, flavoured tea. A more detailed description of this particularly popular Earl Grey origin myth can be found in our Tea Taster Blog.

Earl Grey Recipes

Enjoy Earl Grey differently!

The classic black tea with the tart, fresh bergamot flavour not only tastes wonderful on its own, but is also ideal for refining various dishes. For example, in a festive cake with a "special" look or as a flavouring ingredient in tea jelly. Also particularly delicious at the end of the day: the Hot Earl Grey Martini with fine gin!

Hot Earl Grey Martini

Earl Grey with a difference: together with Siegfried gin, vermouth, Cointreau and sweetener, a delicious hot drink is created for teatime+.

Toilet roll cake 

This delicious loo roll cake is guaranteed to amaze and contains Earl Grey Noblesse as a special highlight!

Tea jelly 

Earl Grey is not only a delight when freshly brewed in a cup, but also tastes delicious as a sweet spread.

Kostenloser Versand ab 20 € (D)
30 Tage Rückgaberecht
Sicheres Einkaufen
PAYBACK-Punkte sammeln

Earl Grey - Tee-Tradition aus England

Was ist Earl Grey Tee eigentlich?

Teetasse-englisch​Earl Grey ist die Bezeichnung einer Teemischung, die ursprünglich aus chinesischem Schwarztee bestand und mit dem feinen, duftig-bitteren Öl der Bergamotte-Frucht aromatisiert wurde. Heute gibt es zahlreiche Mischungen, teils mit Grünem Tee oder Rooitea. Den Namen verdankt der Tee Charles Grey, dem 2. Earl of Fallodon. Er hob 1833 als britischer Premierminister das Preismonopol der East India Company im Teehandel mit China auf. Der Titel "Earl Grey" ist ein vererbbarer Titel der Familie Grey, Earls of Fallodon. Zur Entstehung dieses Klassikers sind mehrere Mythen bekannt.

Bester Earl Grey Tee von TeeGschwendner 

Die Earl Grey Schwarzteemischung mit spritzigem Bergamotte-Aroma hat eine lange Tradition bei TeeGschwendner. Bereits auf der ersten Teeliste vor 40 Jahren war der englische Teeklassiker als "Earl Grey Nr. 69" zu kaufen. Nach wie vor ist dieser Earl Grey Tee einer der beliebtesten Tees aus unserem Sortiment und wurde in den USA sogar zum weltbesten Earl Grey gekürt!

Unsere 3 besten Earl Greys

Nr. 922
Earl Grey Nr. 69
(541)
Der kräftige Klassiker mit dem zitrusähnlichen Geschmack der Bergamotte, intensiv duftend und angenehm.

4,70 €*

(47,00 €* / Kilogramm)

Nr. 938
Earl Grey Bio
(0)
Bester Schwarztee aus Südindien und edelstes Bergamotteöl aus Italien vereinen sich zu diesem besonderen Earl Grey Tee.

6,20 €*

(62,00 €* / Kilogramm)

Bio-Anbau DE-ÖKO-013
Nr. 935
Earl Grey's Lady Violet
(108)
Ein dezenter Hauch von zitronig-frischer Bergamotte schmiegt sich harmonisch an die leichte, duftig-blumige Tasse des Himalaya First Flush.

5,90 €*

(59,00 €* / Kilogramm)

TeeGschwendner Earl Grey Tees im Vergleich


Die Earl Grey Schwarzteemischung mit spritzigem Bergamotte-Aroma hat eine lange Tradition bei TeeGschwendner. Bereits auf der ersten Teeliste vor 40 Jahren war der englische Teeklassiker als "Earl Grey Nr. 69" zu kaufen. Nach wie vor ist dieser Earl Grey Tee einer der beliebtesten Tees aus unserem Sortiment und wurde in den USA sogar zum weltbesten Earl Grey gekürt!

Unsere Earl Grey Tees sind wahrhaft royaler Hochgenuss: neben der klassischen Variante aus kräftigem Schwarztee mit Bergamotteöl oder Bergamottearoma finden sich auch mildere Earl Grey Tees auf First Flush-Basis, Grüntee mit Bergamotte oder Earl Grey Tee mit einer Veredelung durch Orangen- und Lavendelnoten. 

Mythen und Geschichte des Earl Grey


Die Entstehung dieser bekannten Mischung aus schwarzem Tee und Bergamotte geht einer Legende nach auf den Engländer Lord Grey zurück. Wie genau dieser auf die Idee kam, chinesischem Schwarztee Bergamotte-Öl beizumischen, ist aber umstritten. Wir stellen die drei gängisten Earl Grey Entstehungsmythen vor:

1. Da​​​​s Rezept

Auf einer seiner Reisen entdeckte Charles Grey ein altes chinesisches Tee-Rezept. Das aus der Bergamottefrucht stammende Öl wurde zur Verfeinerung des Tees verwendet. In England zurück überließ der Earl das Rezept der Teefirma Jackson of Picadilly, aus Dankbarkeit für dieses herausragende Rezept, bedankte sich die Firma, indem sie dem Tee den Namen Earl Grey gaben.

2. Das Gesch​​enk

Die Rezeptur für diesen Tee war ein Geschenk eines dankbaren Mandarin an Charles Grey, der ihm aus einem medizinischen Notfall heraus das Leben rettete.

3. Das Schiffsunglüc​​k

Auf der langen Reise von China nach Europa lagerte der Tee neben Fässern mit Bergamotteöl. Durch heftigen Seegang geriet etwas des Öls in den Tee und vermischte sich. Daheim angekommen bemerke der Earl of Fallodon sofort die "Verunreinigung". Er wollte den teuren Tee jedoch nicht sofort wegschütten und ließ ihn deshalb unter den Armen verteilen. Diese nahmen die neue Mischung dankend an und es kam zu einer großen Nachfrage nach dem neuen, aromatisierten Tee. Eine ausführlichere Beschreibung dieses besonders populären Earl Grey Entstehungsmythos gibt es in unserem Tea Taster Blog!